1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My car brokeded.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by twinjet, Feb 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. twinjet

twinjet Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Sep 23, 2008
    Note: Long post. If you want to skip to the moral of the story, I have a TL;DR at the bottom.

I've been driving a 2005 Dodge Neon SXT since August 2014. Back then, it seemed like the perfect buy. Great on gas, sleek, fast, and just enough room to haul my bass rig and stuff without obscuring any vision (great trunk space!).

Over time, problems had begun to arise. I had never owned a manual, so I didn't realise my clutch was worn to nothing. To this day, the car still shifts fine, but accelerating too quickly can cause the clutch to slip. RPM could soar, but rubber doesn't burn.

Last summer, the tie rods on my front gave out while I was exiting a roundabout, rendering my steering useless. This was a relatively cheap fix - $220. Could have been bad had this occurred on a highway the highway I was 300 feet from entering.

Another car checkup revealed I had worn CV joints. My boots also needed replacing. More comments on the clutch. Something about a clutch bearing, too. Whole transmission job would have cost me $800, but didn't have that kind of green.

Anyway, the problem I never expected to catch up to me - my suspension! The suspension was really bad in front. You'd hear all sorts of weird squeaks and pops. The back wasn't so audible.

As I drove home tonight, I turned at a light and suddenly I notice the ride gets extremely bumpy. Strange, what's with the road? I continue, more bumpies. Wow, this is bad. I've driven this road every day for the past ten months... Gotta be the car. Cross an intersection, even more bumpies. I think I'm riding my tires at this point.