My Classical/Jazz Mp3s - from 1996!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Mike Flynn, Apr 11, 2005.

1. Hello good bass pals,

I was at my mum's place on the weekend and found a tape, (yes that's a cassette) of a duo I did for about a year with a brilliant, self-taught, classical/jazz guitarist I know called James Watson - in 1996. We both saw the John McLaughlin duo with Jonas Hellborg and were massively inspired by the dynamics and range of what they did – bass with classical guitar - obviously we weren't anywhere near their level - but James' unbelievable playing and determination pushed me to my limits and we ended up making some good music - even though I was still only just grasping the ways and means of improvising.

Bearing in mind these recordings were made almost 10 years ago I think my playing stands up but is not beyond criticism - I just wish my tone was better - plus I doubled up on chords a lot of the time so there aren't many basslines here – and yes, the tape to PC transfer means these are a bit hissy – so apologies again for that; but it was an amazing learning experience and we did a load of great gigs together. Our first one brought the house down at our local pub and when you do that kind of thing in front of small audience of say 50 people - it's even more thrilling. James is now a fulltime classical guitarist and I can assure is a lot, lot better than on these recordings – he’s completely self-taught and is one of the only people I know with total musical recall – he can hear an entire guitar suite and have most of it memorized by the end.

I hope you enjoy some of this - I'd love to do something like this again:

Tango Suite

McLaughlin Suite

Blues In E

Like Someone In Love (stunning arrangement by James)

Thanks for listening

2. chimp

Dec 4, 2004
    South Africa
    Great stuff. I enjoyed the McLaughlin Suite i haven't yet met a guitarist that would even think of doing anything slightly jazzy.