Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

my design

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by brian v2.0, Apr 4, 2004.

1. i've been sketching out designs for basses recently. Unfortunately they have all remained sketches because i'm not sure how to make them on a computer. I did however take a picture of my favorite design sketch, lemme know what you think.

keep in mind i've never done any guitar/bass designing before so be gentle and gimme any pointers you can, thanks :D

edited to add that this is not drawn completely to scale so the neck looks kind of funny. but you get the idea

2. Brian, you've got something going on there but it's awful hard to tell just what it is. My advice comes from wonderful art teacher I had when I was young (God bless you Ms. Wolfe!) She preached it loud and clear and it's carried me through a design career for many years...

FILL THE PAGE!!

There is so much about good design that draws from the sum of it's small points. To a musician each is a little gem in a larger pile. Some we like better than others. It's in seeing all the details and weighing that against our personal holy grails that we connect with your design. So show it large, show it proud and really think hard about each individual detail and how they contribute to the bigger picture.

Good Luck

3. Zon Bass

Zon Bass

Jan 20, 2002
    Dallas, TX
    I like it, it's kind of an upside down jazz singlecut thing but it works. My only criticism is that the top side of the headstock doesn’t really fit the body. Maybe extend it out a little and round it, just not to the extent of the other side.

4. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Neck is kind of crooked :D

Just kidding maybe you could repost it right side up. That would help me critique it

5. Its a good start.