My DIY cab project what problems do i have to look out for ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lewibassist, Jan 28, 2005.

1. Hiya i am currently building a bass cab for my A.S level tech major project. I am basing the design around the same sizes as a Aguilar GS-112 and i have a Eminence Delta 12 at 8 ohms to put in there. I have no experience with cab building and i wounder if there any problems i will come up against. I tried to match the aguilar speaker as close as i could so i can avoid the math side of the building. I tried my best to match the port hole size up as accurate as possible. Would it matter where the ports were just as long as they the right size ?. Any tips you can give me on anythin to with cab building will be much appreciated :)
  2. CrackBass

Aug 10, 2004
    hey man, you can't avoid the math. you might get lucky but odds are you won't have a cab living up to it's potetial. buy the speaker sytems book at radio shack for like ten bucks. it's not really that hard to figure out for the type of box you're building. use 3/4" plywood for material, preforably voidless cabinetgrade. (although for a cab that size you might get by with 1/2") ports can be placed almost anywhere but they need to be the right size and length. pvc can work well on the cheap side. you might want to get some help with your basic carpentry skills if this is your first endevour.

design first! then start building.

good luck
  3. Hey cheers for the reply. I have a pic of the progres its coming together pretty well.

I will have to get one of those books. I am also confused about how to connect the speaker to a jack input. Do i need anyhtin inbetween the speaker and the jack input ?
  4. CrackBass

Aug 10, 2004
    if you are going to run a tweeter the you will need a crossover. if you are going to run just the 12 then you can run straight to the jack.
  5. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002