1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

my drummer sucks

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by armywalaby, Dec 30, 2011.

1. This is a video from our halloween gig. I started playing supportive to the way he was playing the drums in effort to bring his error to light, but nothing. this guy just refuses to practice. I'm looking for a better gig.

Facebook

2. "This content is currently unavailable."

Anyway, welcome to the club. We've all been there at one time or another.

3. how about this one? we were playing shine by collective soul, but I said it sounded more like 311. Facebook

4. Randyt

Randyt RAAPT Custom Wood Productions

Jul 21, 2010
    Barrie, Canada
    Oh ya...hear / feel your pain!!

5. man, but more than anything it's the excuses for not practicing...and when he lies about practicing songs it is clear that he never did. he thinks we need to have band practice every day of the week....but that isn't feasible with how little he books; something like 2-3 shows a quarter. he wants us to book shows, but I'm not putting my face in front of this act...no way. not when he owns all the PA but has no idea how any of it works. not when he doesn't have the drive to practice at least every other day. none of us have real jobs...so there is no excuse for any of that.

6. It's his name on the marquee, but he says the band is a democracy. what he means is that he wants his name on the front but everyone else to do the work for him.

7. Marko 1

Marko 1

Mar 9, 2009
    N.E. Ohio
    Links don’t work for me, but I’ll take your and Randyt’s word for it that they guy isn’t good.

Yeah, that’s kinda messed up.

The only guys I know personally whose names are part of the band name keep their bands busy, own and pay for everything, pay the members pretty well (I know one pays the guys $50 each just for rehearsals), and don’t stink.

8. .