1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My evolving experience with the Fender Jazz bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by reno88, Oct 26, 2018.

1. reno88

reno88 Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2008
    Atlanta
    Howdy, y’all.

I’ve responded to a few posts of Fender P vs J, and the discussion (argument) can go on ad nauseam. Here’s a brief rundown of my experience for those interested:

I’ve been playing P-basses for 35 years. I went off the rails and dabbled with a Stingray from ’89-’91. I wanted to like it – it felt great, played great, but I couldn’t get it to sound good. I’m sure that’s due to operator error. I traded it even-up for what became my #1 for over 20 years – a ’73 sunburst P which replaced my first bass, a ’79 P which I bought used in Austin (which I still have). I played the ‘73 all over TX and the southeast through the ‘90s and ‘00s up until I built a beater P bass about 5 years ago. Instruments have a tendency to disappear from dive bars and cars, so I relegated the ’79 and ’73 to home use.

In October of last year, I bought a used ’16 MIM ‘70s Jazz from a fellow TB-er. Mint condish, pau ferro board, blocked and bound, sunburst. I got it for a great price figuring I’d give it a go.