Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My experimental band.

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Sonorous, Jan 4, 2005.

1. Sonorous

Sonorous

Oct 1, 2003
    Denton, TX
    Here.

The song, "When On Mars" is the only song we actually seriously tried to record correctly.

"Its like your laughing" is a song that we had most of it written, but there was a day when I had to work and I missed some writing. So I started playing whatever I felt like towards the end. I didn't know what the guitar and keyboards where playing so I what I play sounds like crap.

2. Well I like it. I like it a lot.

Besides being cool, When on Mars has a great title, because, of course, it infers the statement "When on Mars, do as the Martians do." All the songs posted there sound great!

EDIT: They could really use some melodies though. It's almost like the songs are just backings, begging for some sort of lead instrument -- like vocals (gasp, isn't that what they all say to vocal-less bands), or echoey lead guitar.

3. Sonorous

Sonorous

Oct 1, 2003
    Denton, TX
    Yep. We, or at least I, are aware of the lack of melodies. We don't plan on getting vocals, but we're trying to do something about it.

4. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I can't show a true appreciation of the songs due to my connection, I keep buffering, but I dig it. Very light and floaty... indie if you will. ;) I like the drumming on "Mars" a whole lot. Very nice use of the splash and ride bell. I don't know how experimental it sound. I don't know how to cure your "lack of melody." I might just consider more variation/changes. If it became too melodic it would have the ambient feel... some people strive to write that "background music" kind of music. And this is getting there.