My Favorite Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by LarryR, Jun 5, 2003.

1. LarryR

LarryR Supporting Member

Feb 2, 2003
    Los Angeles
    I've spent timing seaching the forum for answers and have come up blanks. My questions involve the process of zeroing-in on one's favorite string set. My question is not genre related I don't believe so, its length will hopefully apply to many players.

FWIW, I play pizz Jazz, blues, swing and Pop. I'm a newbie. My ES-1 had Jargar's. Based on this Forum I bought Pirastro Obligato's and dig them.

But....maybe I'd like Garbo's better or Thomastik Weich's, or Corelli's? How do I know w/o spending $ 240, $ 125 and $ 100, keeping in mind I just invested $ 99.

I notice some Garbo's on Ebay. The seller say's "they're 3 months old, lot's of life left. Cheap oppty to see if they're right for you". You guys agree? This brings up another question: do strings suffer from detune/remove/reinstall?

To complicate matters, I notice some folks here like the D & G of this set, the E & A from that set. I'd hate to buy the G Corelli for $ 35 when the x-brand G is better suited to my y-brand D.

Ok, I'll shut up now.
  2. Alex Scott

Alex Scott

May 8, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I like to use strings until they are dead, 6 months to a year, then replace them with something else, if there is something I want to try. I think it kind of builds character, because I learn to get the sound I want out of that string by the time I'm done with them.
  3. In my experience, yes.