Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My first amp which to get?(fender)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by phishyd, Feb 2, 2005.

1. phishyd

phishyd

Nov 9, 2004
    Should I get a fender bassman 100 for $282 shipped( old model
    a fender rumble 100 for $300 shipped

2. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Unless you are really stuck on the Fender line, personally, I would look for something else.

I have heard that the Bassman line isn't worth much until you get to the 200 level and the Rumbles are cheap Bassman replacements. But I have NOT personally played through either of these amps.

What style of music do you play and are you gigging? That might really tell the tale.

:)

Joe.

3. phishyd

phishyd

Nov 9, 2004
    I am just learning. I have been renting a fender 25 and would like something bigger

4. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Well, you are certainly heading in the right direction by looking for a bigger amp.

What kind of music do you wish to play?

Trust me, it makes a huge difference.

If you MUST buy the Fender I would go with the newer model, AMS has a scratch/dent one for sale for $239.95 shipped.

:)

Joe.

5. phishyd

phishyd

Nov 9, 2004
    I am into Primus, Phish, Dave matthews. I have't really learned how to play. So far I have just been playing by ears and trying to jam with friends. I am thinking about getting a book so I can start learning. I bought a Peavey Grind 4bxp about 3 weeks ago. My rental month is up so I need to buy something and don't have much money to work with? Any other suggestions? I dont care about name brands I care about whats best for the money and that I won't have to buy a new amp in a year or so. I kinda like cheesy model amps better then name brands.

6. phishyd

phishyd

Nov 9, 2004