1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My first bass: Boogie Bodies #14

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rafael, Oct 10, 2010.

1. Rafael

Rafael

Feb 4, 2008
    Seattle
    I thought I'd share the story about my first bass. I hope this isn't off topic here....

I grew up playing the family piano and a couple of years of viola lessens at public school in Bothell, WA, but I mostly lived the life of a "rock star" vicariously through my high school buddies.

When I moved back to Seattle in the late seventies I once again fell in with a group of people who happened to be musicians, and it wasn't long before I started playing guitar.

Realizing that I didn't really have the talent to compete with the guitarists I hung out with I decided to try the bass, and went shopping at the local pawn shops for an inexpensive first bass.

Wandering into Palace Loans I spied a likely suspect hanging on the wall, a beautiful all birds eye maple Boogie Bodies P-bass with Bartolini High-A pickups. When I inquired about the bass, the owner barely acknowledged my questions, only offering that the bass was "a Fender copy."

I offered the guy $200 bucks and walked out the door with the bass, in its case, and never looked back....

For years I used it as my primary gigging bass, but as I got older the weight of the thing became too much to bear, so I only occasionally pull it out for shows, relegating it instead to studio work. My friends like to borrow it for recording as it sound amazing!

It's been hard finding out much info about it, since Boogie Bodies isn't really functioning as they were back in the day, but this one is serial #0014. I've seen some other Boogies but none that were birds eye body/neck/fretboard. If anyone know anything about the early history of this bass I'd love to hear it.