Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My First Bass Guitar and Post.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gLaDiAtOr, May 29, 2004.

1. Hello everyone, i'm new to these forums so be nice to me :)

I have been playing Bass Guitar since I think June last year. For that period of time I have hired a Bass Guitar.

I am now ready to purchase my own Bass Guitar. My budget is $1000 and I am from Australia. I went to my local Music store and I found a couple basses that I liked, and sounded quite good, they where the....

Ibanez Eda 900 which was $945.00 including Gig Bag
    Ibanez Btb 400 which was $1049 including Gig Bag.

I am very close to pruchasing the Eda 900, I like the look of it, it sounds good.

I just started playing a bit of slap bass so a bass that is Slap, user friendly would come in handy.

If you guys could just reccomend one of those bass guitars, or possibly another one, that is around my budget would be muchly appreciated.

Joe aka gLaDiAtOr.

2. robe

robe

Oct 19, 2003
    Australia-Brisbane
    hey
    welcome to talkbass,

Im also from Australia, what part are you from?

Umm
    im not sure which one u should get but what ever feels comfortable and sounds cool i guess

wait for some of the more experienced bass players to tell you some of their thoughts!

3. I'm from Geelong, what about you?

4. I'm liking the EDA series body design, kind of wild, I like it 8). Most of the folks I've chatted with like their BTB's just fine. They both look like fine choices.

Some similarly priced basses:
    Yamaha BB series?
    Maybe a used G&L?
    A low end Shecter?
    http://www.guitar.com.au/

5. josh_m

josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl