1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My First Bass Is On Its Way

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by csacwp, Sep 28, 2009.

1. csacwp

csacwp

Sep 27, 2009
    Hello to all. This is my first time posting on this board, but I've already made a post on the amps board.

I play guitar but I got tired of watching my friends who play bass hog all the lows, so I got myself a ~1990s MIM fender p-bass.

I'm very excited but don't really know what to expect. I've been trying to choose and amplifier but I think I've got that figured out now. Is there anything I'm going to have problems with firstoff. Maybe some sore fingures? Also, I'm very tempted to pick bass instead of playing with my fingers. I've read that this is ok but it creates a different type of sound. it's tempting because when it comes to picking my right-hand technique is there.

Thanks in advance for any advice I get and cheers- this is an awesome forum. :)

2. Flatty Banks

Flatty Banks

Oct 26, 2008
    California
    Welcome! A Fender was my first bass, too.

3. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

You should do fine with that bass. You need to learn both fingerstyle and pick - they sound very different.

4. MooseLumps

MooseLumps Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2007
    Portland
    picking bass and picking guitar take somewhat different approaches. I encourage you to try both and see where you are comfortable.

You might blister a bit if you learn fingerstyle at first. It's not without it's benefits, callouses keep you from blistering as easily.

one of the things that I notice from people who are picking up bass for the first time, especially if guitar is their first instrument, is that they are surprised by the size of a bass guitar. You should get past that fairly quick.