My First Bass Solo

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by WoodyG3, Mar 16, 2004.

1. WoodyG3

May 6, 2003
    Colorado, USA
    I did my first solo on Saturday night at a gig at our guitar player's house. I was nervous because tons of my friends were there. It was a solo I worked up for the song "Ain't No Sunshine." I screwed it up totally in practice when we were doing a sound check, but I played it better than I ever have when it counted. After the song a guy yelled, "the bass player rocks!" Of course, the guy was a good friend of mine, but it was still cool. :cool:

I can't believe what a rush it is when you play something you've worked really hard on and you really nail it on stage.

I bet this sounds like I'm 16 and just getting started. Actually, I'm 46 and I first picked up the bass about a year ago. After years of starting and stopping on guitar, and never getting serious, I picked up a bass and fell in love with it. I started playing in my wife's band after only a couple of months. I've always loved music, I have about 700 CD's and 400 vinyl records, so playing in a band is kind of like a dream come true.

Anyway, I just wanted to share my thoughts. I always enjoy reading people's gig stories on this forum.

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Sounds like you had a blast. What style of solo

I have also been playing for a little more than a year and am trying to start my first band with a saxophone player I met recently.

Anybody know a drummer from Brandon MS? :D
  3. WoodyG3

May 6, 2003
    Colorado, USA

Good luck putting your band together. It's always a challenge getting people together, then keeping them together!

Solo was blues rock type.
  4. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    I hear that. Everyone I have wanted to form a band with either doesn't have talent or wants to go on a world tour, and for me college comes first.