My first bass....yeah

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Robbase, Mar 13, 2005.

1. Robbase

Mar 13, 2005
    Hey everyone...Im a complete bass newb. I only started to take lessons 3 months ago, but soon decided to buy my first bass. Im thinking off an Ibanez sr500, a washburn t24 or the washburn force 4...Im totally in the loop if I should right away go 5 string. Im having so much fun with my rented 4 string that im afraid of getting frustrated with a five string. Is it ok to first get better on a 4 string before you switch to a five?? The music I love is Jazz and acid funk..favorite bassist is Nick Fyffe...maybe you can help me out a little..thanks so much Rob
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I dont think you need a 5 string, from the info youve provided....and i think it would hinder your learning since you are just getting comfortable on a 4.

As far as which bass to get, how much money do you have, that you can spend?
  3. I started on a 4 string, moving to a 5 string took about 3-4 days to get completelly used to, after being comfortable on a 4 string for about a year n a half

If you are set on getting a five string at some point, it might be worth while looking out for a cheapish 4 to start with

And if you want to move on from that you can get a more upmarket 5 string or if you change your mind a higher up 4

I know alot of people might think its a waste of money on that first 4 string, but i think its better to start on something cheap and rough around the edge to start with, plus if you get sick of bass a month down the line you havent spent too much money on it

( i can now play fluently between my 4,5 and 6's , but i'd say learning is better on a 4 )
  4. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio