My first bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Vox Populi, Jan 27, 2004.

1. Vox Populi

Vox Populi Reggae Loving Honkey

Jan 27, 2004
    Poulsbo, WA
    I'm a newbie here, and I'm looking into picking up bass playing as a hobby. I have a few questions that have no doubt been beaten to death in the past, but I'm looking for recent info.

I'm looking for a good bass to start on, having zero knowledge of the bass in the beginning. For the music that I want to play, bass players I know have been suggesting that I get a five-string right off.

I have been looking at a few basses in this month's musician's friend catalog. The Peavey Millennium BXP-5, Rogue LX405 or (if I wanted to sell my kidneys for a bass) the Peavey Grind Bass 5 NTB. Understand that I'm 17 years old and practically penniless.

I know Rogue's reputation which tends to make me wary of them, though the LX405 is "nice for the money" according to a bass-playing friend.

The Peavey Millennium has a good reputation and good reviews, but I've heard the pickups are lacking something.

The Grind 5 would be ideal, but I would be forced to postpone my purchase for a few months. Would it be worth it?

Is there another "bargian bass" I could get that is a good startrer instrument, and will also be a good bass when I start to get better?

The kind of music that makes my mouth water is Primus-esque stuff. I really want to learn music like that, although I understand it takes time.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
  2. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    Don't get the rogue, they suck. Look at some of the basses from The essexes there are very nice basses that are better than Squiers and usually could compete with mexican fenders. I'm getting one soon myself, after I get some cabs.
  3. JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL