My first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Osmoza, Feb 11, 2020.

1. Osmoza

Osmoza

Feb 11, 2020
    Poland
    Hi,
    Firstly i want to mention that i'm new to basses and music in general and i'm looking for a bass, a 5 string one to be precise because my main goal is to play metal music (mostly funk, prog and alternative subgenres) and my favorite bassist is Ryan Martinie who uses mainly 5 string basses.
    I know it's better to start with a classic 4 string one but i probably won't be able to get a new one for a long time so i'd prefer to start with a 5 string bass. My price limit is something around 500$.
    So far i've found the Sterling SUB Ray5 and ESP LTD B-205SM to be my best bets but as i said, i'm just beginning with bass so your opinion would be most valuable.
    Also there are no big music shops where i live so it's hard for me to pick a bass by a feel coz i have a very limited acces to them, that's why i'm asking you to help me choose it.

teh-slb, Remoman, wintremute and 3 others like this.
  2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism

Nothing wrong with starting on a 5. Don't let anybody tell you otherwise. You will, however, have a harder time getting a quality instrument. The B string is a really fickle beast that very few basses do well with even less doing it great. You will probably find it to be much floppier and trickier to play as a beginner because of this.