Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My first bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pixiefemme, Jan 23, 2002.

1. Pixiefemme

Pixiefemme

Jan 23, 2002
    Hong Kong
    Hey everyone,
    I'm a complete beginner, i have no idea how to play the bass but would like too. The thing is i have to purchase a bass first and i don't know if i should get like say a MIM Fender std. jazz bass or a Korean made 'Feeling' bass. i.e. should i start with a good reputable bass or an OK one? A friend of mine suggested a Washburn shortscale but i am not sure. What exactly is a shortscale? and are Washburn basses any good? From what i gathered in the forums they have quite a bad rep..Why is that? Oh and what do you think of Ibanez and Yamahas for beginners? And seeing as I like the music of artists such as the Pixies and Lenny Kravitz do u think i should go for a bass with a brighter or warmer sound?

That's all for now :)
    Thanks!
    :D

2. absinthe

absinthe Guest

Jan 20, 2002
    Great Britain
    Hi, Pixie

As a female bass beginner myself, I plumped for the Washburn XB100 and am completely satisfied with it. It buzzed a little when I got it - but that's what the little allen key and adjustable bridge is for. ;) Within a few minutes, I had it sounding sweet. Even beginners can give quarter and half twists to an adjustable bridge!

My Washburn isn't a "short scale" :confused: it's 34" but it does have a super slim neck and very flat fingerboard which is great if you have short fingers (like me!) or if you want to do fast fingering. It's also a very comfortable bass - solid mahogany body but not oppressively heavy. I've heard of people gigging with this bass quite comfortably for a few hours. I think it sounds pretty cool too.