1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My first build was a Rebel Bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by WalterBush, Jul 25, 2017.

1. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Hello! A few years back I saw the whole "I Found the Rebel Bass" meme that was going around, and decided I wanted one. They're not exactly easy to come by so I started turning my beloved childhood toy into a functioning five string bass. Five years later, she's complete and just got dropped off with a guy who specializes in wargames, miniatures, and model painting. I'll get her back in about a month, but for grins here's a few photos (no soundclips, but she sounds enormous!). If there's interest, I'll be happy to post more photos while I'm waiting for the finished product; Lord knows I would have loved a few more photos of the original to go off while I was fumbling my way around building her!

Warmoth jazz V neck, mahogany body under all the 70s polystyrene, and (mostly) Fender American hardware and electronics. I probably should have launched my building career with something simple, like a P bass, but hey, she sounds good and looks great so I have few regrets. Anyway, pics:

Attached Files:

2. Beej

Beej

Feb 10, 2007
    Vancouver Island
    Super awesome... absolutely love it... :D

WalterBush likes this.
  3. charlie monroe

charlie monroe Gold Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Buffalo, NY
    That's terrific!

4. William Shafer

William Shafer

Apr 25, 2017
    Denver
    Not my cup-o-tea but the dedication and attention to detail is impressive. Nice first build!

5. I-Am-The-Slime

I-Am-The-Slime

Jan 8, 2010
    SW VA
    Cool! Got any pix of the build process?

6. mapleglo

mapleglo Gold Supporting Member