my first DB post/question

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by BassDude24, Mar 8, 2001.

1. BassDude24

Sep 12, 2000
    I hope that I get some response, I am fairly active with the amplified electric group, but not too active with the DB forum.

I was wondering. I didn't get my own bow untill this past year. I had always used the school cheap POS fiberglass. I have been playing for 5 1/2 years, but I didn't get a clue about playing till two years ago, so I started to take lessons, and I got my own bass. (I have since stopped the lessons)

So, the question:
    I have started to notice what look like little black dots on my bow hair. When I look closely, it appears as if I have little beads of rosin on my bow. I can take them off, but only hair by hair, and most of the time the hair will break. So, is this normal? Is it good or bad? Should it be removed? if so, how? or, should I get it re-haired? if so, what precautions should I take to prevent this from happening?
  2. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Just guessing, but it's probably just dirt that's stuck to the hair by the rosin. You can/should use a little bit of alcohol every now and then to clean the hair.
  3. I use a toothbrush soaked in alcohol. It does the job, But I have to remember not to put it back in the Bathroom...;)
  4. There. Didja see that? Didja see that? A BG guy came in and did NOT get mugged. Somebody tell the moderator we don't need no moderator, although he's always welcome to stop in for a visit.

Dude, With a fiberglass bow it doesn't matter, but try to avoid getting alcohol on the stick. It's good practice for that big day in the future, when you become an arco playing fool with a $3,000 bow.
  5. BassDude24

Sep 12, 2000