1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My first jam session with a drummer!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by artdrtr, Feb 25, 2008.

1. artdrtr

artdrtr

Jan 24, 2008
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Here is a little "remember when" for you guys I just have to share.....

First, I'm a noob. I played some guitar years ago on my own just for fun, but they have been collecting dust in the closet ever since the kids came....Now fully in my midlife crisis I bought a bass (SR500L - 2 months ago). I've since been playing along to songs and following a good bass book w/CD until I answered a Craigslist ad from an older beginner drummer, tired of taking lessons, looking to jam with an older beginner bass & guitar player.

Well, yesterday was it. We had access to a band space downtown L.A. No guitar player, just me and the drummer kind of fumbling around for the first hour playing some blues bars patterns out of my book/CD when the light came on for both of us. We turned off the music and just played -- hitting a groove and sounded alright. Simple stuff, but we both played off each other, hit the right timings, sped things up, slowed things down and we both kept up with it -- it was an amazing feeling. I'm hooked!

2. JeffSki

JeffSki

Apr 18, 2007
    Cool man. Jamming with a drummer buddy of mine when I was first learning was fun and I feel it was a great help to me. It's something I'll still do sometimes during the dead space of band practice.

Just feels good playing off a drummer with nothing else to worry about. Kinda a rhythm section connection :D

3. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN