1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My first NSNT build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by sikamikanico, Oct 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. sikamikanico

sikamikanico

Mar 17, 2004
    This is my first build, where NSNT refers to "No Skills, No Tools" - essentially trying to do something useful on a limited budget and maybe learning a thing or two along the way. I willingly sacrificed the looks, but aimed for a structurally solid bass (as much as possible).

This bass started as a modification project. I was curious how pickup placement actually influences sound, and decided to do a small experiment. To control other factors, I bought a cheap Silvertone P-bass for $50 and “routed” (hand drill and screwdriver method) a swimming-pool rout to place pickups in various locations. I also got a DiMarzio Model P (it was cheap due to it’s “unique” color), and at some point that bass looked like this:
    upload_2017-10-1_13-4-4.png

I learned that I prefer having one pickup, and in the general location of Precisions and other similar basses. I wanted to try some other pickup types, and while I liked that bass, the body was thin and it cracked between the neck pocket and the pickup rout (it was cracked when I got it, but I may have made it worse). It was a very light bass, and overall it just did not feel solid enough to make fair judgements on sound. So I decided to get a new body for it.

2. sikamikanico

sikamikanico

Mar 17, 2004
    I wanted to stay on the cheap side, so I bought on eBay an ash P body with a misplaced pickup rout. This was perfect, because I could simply enlarge the rout to accommodate different types of pickups. I even invested in a $10 chisel, so that it was not a complete hack job, like the Silvertone :)

upload_2017-10-1_13-7-57.png