Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My first project, almost complete too

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by DougP, Apr 28, 2005.

1. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    This is my first project. when i get the strings from MF, i will get another pic up. i made a lot of mistakes and learned a lot from this. overall, i would give this a B+. i am not real happy with the grain-filling process. i will practice other methods on some scrap soon.

2. andvari7

andvari7

Aug 28, 2004
    Ennui
    B+ is a bit hard on yourself. I think that's a great first bass, and I wouldn't, unless there are flaws in the construction, go lower than A.

3. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    it is structurally sound. all of the routing is near flawless. i have Barts in it, and it sounds great. i'm am just not real happy with the finish on it. i am sure it is due more to user error than the products i used though.

4. teacherguy

teacherguy

Feb 21, 2004
    Cincinnati, OH
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"This is my first project. when i get the strings from MF, i will get another pic up. i made a lot of mistakes and learned a lot from this. overall, i would give this a B+. i am not real happy with the grain-filling process. i will practice other methods on some scrap soon."

What was your technique for filling the grain? Was it the filler, your method, the type of wood, or what that made you unsatisfied with the results?
    Filling the grain on my first project is my next step so I am curious.
    Looks good in the picture!
    Jon

5. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    It looks alright to me from the pic, I can't see any flaws.
    If you are that unsatisfied, the next one will be better ;) :smug:

6. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001