1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My First Real Bass Solo Live(video)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by canteenboy, Jun 3, 2014.

1. canteenboy

canteenboy

Jan 30, 2007
    https://www.facebook.com/Rafpenabass?ref=bookmarks

I Joined a Salsa band about 8 months ago. I'm new to playing this style of music. I was and am really into learning as much as I can about how to play it.

The band members are used to taking solos a few times a set, so I've been rehearsing with them to prepare the occasional bass solo. I'm new at expressing myself this way, especially in this genre.

What do some of you veteran or novice players have to say advice wise? Any feedback is welcome. Hopefully It will be a learning experience for me.

The vid is the first link on my facebook page.

Thanks for taking the time.

https://www.facebook.com/Rafpenabass?ref=bookmarks

2. canteenboy

canteenboy

Jan 30, 2007
    Feedback would be very appreciated. Approach, phrasing, patience, etc... Any discussion on how to do better would be awesome.

3. canteenboy

canteenboy

Jan 30, 2007
    Is there a better section to post this kind of question on talkbass?

4. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

Apr 2, 2013
    Tennessee
    To be honest, it's a little hard for me to hear. Then again, I'm not going to crank the speakers here at the office. But kudos to you for taking the step forward.

This would more typically be posted in the "Recordings" forum.

5. canteenboy

canteenboy

Jan 30, 2007
    Thanks for the heads up. The audio isn't great. There's was a legit video/audio that I'm waiting to get my hands on though. I think this was an iPhone.

6. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas
    wishing you had built more on the idea at 2:06 : a distinct and appealing melodic phrase with sensitive dynamics and some emotion behind it.