My first real chance..need help

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bassbully43, Aug 27, 2005.

1. bassbully43

Jul 1, 2005
    Hey guys i posted before and got some great ideas on getting my head straight and finding or starting a band. I got a few replies from some guys on flyers i put up in the last week or two. One i should have a try out for next week. They are a gigging blues/rock band older cats like me and have a gig in a month to get ready for. The two guys i talked to said i have the attitude and sound like i am mature and commited to making it in a band. I tend to agree there i am drivin to get in a band or start one soon or sell everything i have and never look back. I have gave myself to about spring to get it going or get out. I have played on and off all my life mostly guitar but found the bass as my love about 3 years ago. I am self taught a decent player but mostly play in the basement alone and write and record songs to a 4 track. People are surprised when they hear them and the responce is good but.... this is my music...the band i will try out for is all covers which i dont do alot of but would do and have no problem doing to get in a band. the guys i talked to said he would rather have a decent player willing to grow with a good atitiude then a great player with a bad one. I am going to give it a go even thou i dont know if i am good enough or can learn all the songs in time. I have 6 to know by this week a couple... Cold Shot SRV..Fool for your
    stockings ZZ top...Mustang Sally Willson picket and a few more. Any tips guys...i downloaded tab to these songs but dont think they are right i just wanted an idea since i know the general songs from radio play. I have not been in a band since high school over 20years ago and only played with a drummer a few weeks ago went good. Sorry this is so long and tips ideas on learning songs trying out for a band and general confidence builders....thanks for any help
  2. JimmyM