Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My first semi-serious attempt at making a decent DIY recording... input please. :)

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by HamOnTheCob, Dec 6, 2004.

1. HamOnTheCob

HamOnTheCob Jacob Moore Supporting Member

Nov 21, 2004
    Cambridge, Ohio, USA
    Endorsing Artist for Warwick Basses, Mesa Engineering, Joyo Technology, Dr. J Pedals, and Levy's Leathers
    Well, I'm not a virtuoso bass player, not much of a guitar player, and certainly not much of a singer, but I decided to write a song a while back and recorded it on my computer soon after finishing it. I recently ran across it again, and am looking for some encouraging/constructive remarks. Not butt-kissing remarks, just polite suggestions of things I could do better next time, things I did alright on, etc. I'm not an engineer, so of course it's nothing special. I'm just trying to decide whether I should bother to invest in a little bit of outboard gear (like maybe an MBox) to do future recordings, or if I should just forgot about it.

EDIT TO INCLUDE THE ACTUAL LINK BECAUSE I'M A MORON haha: http://users.1st.net/milk/Projects/Jacob_Hamilton_-_Half_Way_Demo.mp3

I borrowed a good friend's Guild acoustic/electric with Fishman electronics to record the rhythm and lead tracks. The bass was recorded on a 96 Warwick Corvette Std 4 with EMGs.

I recorded into the mic input on my old desktop PC, which has a SB Live! soundcard and used CoolEdit Pro to track and mix everything.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and comments you guys have to offer.

- Jake

2. HamOnTheCob

Nov 21, 2004
    Cambridge, Ohio, USA
    Endorsing Artist for Warwick Basses, Mesa Engineering, Joyo Technology, Dr. J Pedals, and Levy's Leathers
  3. fretbuzz85

fretbuzz85

Nov 1, 2004
    Very nice. This is not butt kissing, i don't fake my comments.
    Excellent tone for the guitar and the bass.