Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My first time.....recording

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by bassy18, Apr 23, 2002.

1. bassy18

bassy18

Oct 30, 2001
    Here
    Hey all,

Its been a while since I've posted anything. I've just been kinda groovin away.

I have been playing bass for about six years now, and the other day I heard a recording of myself for the first time. I've seen videos and such before, and the sound quality was band and I hated it. This time it was recorded on a dat, and I sounded pretty good. i was with my jazz ensemble of course but it still felt good to hear me, and know it was me playing, especially my solo. This was just an awesome experience for me and I am so excited. Just wanted to share. Why don't some of you guys share you "first times" with me, just for the heck of it.:cool:

2. If I could remember that far back, I might oblige. I vaguely remember walking in to a recording studio at the ripe old age of 16 with my band and later hearing my tune played over a local station to promote a "Battle of the Bands" event which we participated in. I was elated to hear my song on the radio, but that feeling of elation diminished over the years as I became better at playing bass - my recording sounded more and more basic as I 'progressed' and, well, I was frankly embarassed at having had it played over the airwaves. Ah, the lessons of life. T'was an experience.

3. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA