1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My first Zeppelin song

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by FerK, Nov 2, 2013.

1. FerK

FerK Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2011
    Switzerland
    I've been playing bass for 2 years (after playing piano/keys for 25+). From the moment I touched my first bass, it was love at first sight, and have bought, traded and sold 7 basses. I'm now down to a good 2 axes (an Ibby SR1200, and a MM Stingray).

I always tried to mix many different styles, and have learnt songs from punk and classic rock, to funk and jazz. Have managed to learn stuff ranging from Jaco's Portrait of Tracy (I still practice it frequently, 'cause I don't think I'll ever play it anywhere close to perfect), to Iron Maiden's Phantom of the Opera. Although I play a bloody good cover of Duran Duran's "Rio".

Today I planted a new tree: my first Led Zep song. It was Ramble On. I've always been a bit hesitant to tackle Jonesy. Thought it would be nearly impossible at my playing level to manage to play his songs, but as always, it's all down to feeling and practice. I think I'll learn a few more.

Any ideas for not extremely difficult, fun-to-play Led Zep songs ?

2. Rockin Mike

Rockin Mike

May 27, 2011
    The Ocean
    Black Dog
    Good Times Bad Times
    Dazed and Confused

3. Hues

Hues

Nov 27, 2012
    see Burn Notice
    How Many More Times

Lately, it's been the first thing I play each day....And throughout the day.

4. jamminology101

jamminology101

Aug 22, 2012
    Indianapolis In
    Endorsing Artist: Glockenklang