Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

my fretless dilemma

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sargebaker, May 2, 2004.

1. sargebaker

sargebaker Commercial User

May 2, 2004
    Montreal QC CA
    owner/builder, ISLAND Instrument Mfg.
    hi guys, im new to the threads here and i came for some advice.now recently i have been considering buying the yamaha attitude II bass (the one billy sheehan plays) but then started listening to a lot of jazz and stuff and relaized what i really wanted was a fretless! (however i will get the attitude one day, i love that bass) Anyways, i would apreciate some advice on what fretless basses are out there for me. I only play 4 strings so I am looking for a 4 string, preferably with passive electronics and in the price range of 1000-1500$ I have come up with a few ideas and i was hoping i could solve my fretless problem here. Here are the basses I've found that i could like:

Fender Jaco Pastorius Jazz bass
    Rickenbacker 4003 FL (are the electronics passive?)
    Ken Smith (cant remember the model, but im pretty sure it's like 3000 $ so i don't think ill be getting it anytime soon.)
    :help:
    plz lemme know what you guys think, and if there are any other good fretless 4 strings i have neglected let me know of them!

Thanx a bunch

Dill

2. JPJ

JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    Sargebaker,
    The Fender would be nice, and there are some other decent big-name companies out there who make great fretless basses in that range (Skyline, KSD, etc.), but an Eshenbaugh J Series 4 -string fretless would actually be right at the top end of your range. Something like this (minus the crotch walnut top/back and maple/gabon ebony neck binding) would definately be within your grasp. :D :bassist:

3. sargebaker

May 2, 2004
    Montreal QC CA