1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My fuzz ain't fuzzing!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by kydnav, Mar 17, 2008.

1. kydnav

kydnav

Jun 24, 2006
    Netherlands
    It's boosting :eyebrow:

I was making one of those diy fuzz pedals. All done, just needs casing, so I tested it..
    I plug everything in. Turn on my amp. Turn on the pedal.
    WHAM! Volume boost!

I turn the pot down, volume goes down.
    Turn the pot up, volume goes up.

Now this would be great if I wanted a pedal to boost my volume. But it's supposed to be a fuzz!

I can't make pictures of it right now, but I used this for making it:
    http://www.newtone-online.nl/downloads/MuffFuzz.pdf
    (warning: PDF & Dutch)

If anyone has any idea what might be wrong, thanks a bunch!

[edit]

Added pictures!

The whole bunch (yes, it's a wirey mess, I know.. It's my first attempt)
    [​IMG]

Front:
    [​IMG]

Soldering:
    [​IMG]

Click for bigger!

2. are you playing pretty hard? Distortion pedals needs diggin in to get a decent sound.

3. bongomania

bongomania Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    You're kidding, right?

4. kydnav

kydnav

Jun 24, 2006
    Netherlands
    Even if I pluck at my hardest, not a grid of fuzz in my tone..

5. actually, not at all. I find that you can really control the amount of distortion in your sound by changing your technique, If you play normally, you get just a hint of dirt in the sound, when You dig harder, the sound gets more fuzzy.

My experience is from an overdrive pedal in front of an all tube amp though, it might not work the same with another amp.

Most guitar players i've seen do it too, when they play soflty they get a pretty clean sound and when they dig in the distortion kicks in.