Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My Guitar Player Says

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by lazyi, Jun 28, 2005.

1. lazyi

lazyi

Feb 14, 2005
    Hong Kong
    Until about 3 months ago, I played mostly root notes. I started practicing more and trying new things, triads, arpegios walking bass lines etc.. and lately my guitar player has been telling stop playing that fusion ****. Anyway, we are an original band I am really getting into playing bass, not that i am any good, but I want to push my self and try different things. So he was happier when I just played the root note only. Anyone else experience this kind of crap.

:eyebrow:

A

2. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    tell him to deal with it, and if he wont, quit. but if it genuinely sounds bad, stop doing it. :p

3. I know what your talkin about, I'm a trained classical and jazz player so I have a tendency to play that way, however sometimes its better for the song if I just sit there plucking away at root doing 8th notes.

While it might be easy to say "Yeah the guitarist is a prick becuase he won't let me play the way I want to." Sometimes they are just trying to make the whole thing sound good... becuase truely most rock and roll fans don't want to hear a whole buch of moving bass all the time.

4. Couplea thoughts here...

First, without knowing the music you guys are playing, it's entirely possible that a steady root note is the way to go for it. There are ways to put a little flare into even that during bridges, chord changes etc. but if root thumping is what the music calls for, my suggestion is DO IT.