Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My happy story...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [DB]' started by VictorLeMonteWooten, Jan 5, 2001.

1. VictorLeMonteWooten

VictorLeMonteWooten

Dec 6, 2000
    i just became 2nd chair bass in my school orchestra today. The 1st chair died, just kidding, i challanged for the spot and won. It shows how awful the bass section is, i've been playing upright for about 1-2 months, i've been playing in orchestra for about a month, but i started playing a little bit before that. In that amount of time i learned to read bass clef. I've played bass for years (8) may not seem to be long, but keep in mind, i'm still in school, but i never took the time to read the clef.

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    How many people are in your section? When I was in High School, I was the lone double bassist out of a class of 150. That had its advantages and disadvantages (the main advantage being that I was never challenged!)

3. Congratulations! Don't spend too much time worrying that your competition sucked. You beat 'em and that's what counts.

4. VictorLeMonteWooten

VictorLeMonteWooten

Dec 6, 2000