My Hartke 5000

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by teprodic, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Hello everyone. Well today I was jamming out with some of my friends. I was using my Hartke 5000 with my Ampeg svt 8x10. Well while I was tuning my bass, I kept on strumming the string in order for the tuner to read it, but nothing happened. So then I looked at the back and noticed the tuner wasn't connect to the amp. So my dumba$$ decided to get the instrument cable and connect it from the tuner to the amp while the Hartke was still running. So in other words I forgot to turn the amp off before this. Well when I connected the tuner to the amp it made this big pop sound on the cabinet and I saw like a little flash of light on the back of the Hartke. So I immideately turned everything on my rack off. Waited a minute and turned it back on. I started playing and all I heard was nasty sounding distortion coming out of the cabinet. So since I was at my rehearsal studio, I decided to connect my amp to my friends 8 10 and the same thing was happening. So I got his amp and connected it to my ampeg just to make sure if it was the cab that was the problem. So it turned out that my cab was ok after all. It was sounding good and all. But my Hartke would turn on and it would provide a sound but it sounded like garbage. What's the problem? Is it a burned fuse? This amp contains two fuses and well I don't know much about them but one seemed ok. I'm kind of confused though becuase if it was the fuse wouldn't the amp not turn on at all? Well if anyone has had a similar experience to this could you please tell me what's wrong? Thank you very much.

Here's a review
    Connected rack tuner to amp
    Popping sound came out of cabinet
    I saw a little flash of light go out in the back of the amp in the return effects input
    The amp still turned on and played but it sounded very distorted.
    Please help, Thanks.
  2. PhatBasstard

PhatBasstard Spector Dissector Supporting Member

Feb 3, 2002