My head has a broken cooling fan. Should I be playing it?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Squidfinger, Mar 30, 2004.

1. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    I finally got a cab for my Peavey T-max. So I hooked it up and was playing it then I noticed something, no cooling fan drone. I look at the back of the head and see that the cooling fan is nonfunctional. Ug, I played this head for 20 minutes at the pawn shop (no returns) and didn't notice this. Now its started cutting out on me intermittently (Sweet Lord!). So I put a fan right behind the head and put it on high, but still it cuts out. I think it's got a bad input jack cuz sometimes if I wiggle the connection it comes back on.

I see that the input jack can be taken out with a wrench. I'm an electronics student and am fairly sure I can fix this myself, but I'd like to know more from your guys experience. Is the input jack just connected by one or two wires and I can just clip them, and connect another input? What about the fan? Will soldering be necessary or could I get away with crimps? Do I have to order these parts from Peavey or are input jacks and cooling fans universal parts that I can just order at Radio Shack? I really appreciate the help guys.

I'm gonna go weep over my new amp. :bawl:
  2. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    Just a little more info in case anybody cares. The amp is officially dead now, no sound at all. I traded a $600 Genz I had just got for X-mas for it :bawl: . The head will also sometimes physically jump when I turn it on. Scared the crap out of me first time it did it. I now have no amp. :help:
  3. Mono jack inputs are just 2 wires and are very easy to replace. Peavey use industry standard fans in their modern amps as far as I'm aware, so you can replace that.