Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My homebuilt Jazz, a heartwarming story... w/ pictures

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Eilif, Jun 17, 2005.

1. Eilif

Eilif Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago
    To see the pics skip down a paragraph...

I had just begun working at GC when we had a massive sale. I was an accessories salesman (and a darn good one) and in our blowout bin was a long box that said Fender Replacement neck. I pulled it out and it was a Fender replacement 62 jazz neck. It looked so forlorn, and sad, and was so inexpensive at 89 bucks (less than half what the store paid fender for the neck) that I had to buy it. I took it home and put it on my MIM Pbass. It wasn't bad looking, but I wanted my pbass to stay the way it was. The poor lonley neck sat around forover a year as I collected the parts I would need to give it a new life in it's new home (my bass collection) I assembled all the parts and sent it with my brother to have his guitar tech do final setup on my beautiful, but not quite finished bass. Fineally, almost 2 years from buying the lonley neck, she was reborn like a butterfly as a beautiful jazz bass.

See her here.(click on the pics, they came out better than I expected)

http://photobucket.com/albums/y167/dane5140/bass pictures/

Parts are...
    Fender: Replacement 62 jazz neck, vintage tuners, Noiseless, pickups, control plate, pickup cover, pots and strings.
    WD: Ash body
    Leo Quan: Baddas II Bridge
    Rickenbacker knobs
    Unknown brand: wiring, input jack, and pickguard, strapknobs
    Formby's tung oil for the body (a ton of coats)