My Ibanez SR 5 string E-C family

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jibreel, Nov 24, 2021.

1. jibreel

jibreel Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2005
    Seattle
    I have been playing bass for over 15 years [damn, I guess I am old]. My first base was a Gibson EB model. Been through a lot of gear since then, including many boutique instruments, but have settled down now and have all of the components that I really need. Basses, amps, speakers and a pedal board.

I have settled on the Ibanez basses. I really like the thin necks and the wood choices they use.

All of my bases are strung E-C. I like playing chords and also soloing in the upper registers.

The fretted bases are plecked. They are both identical, just have different strings for contrasting sounds: LaBella black nylon TI and jazz rounds

All of the original electronics had been switched out for American Bartolini components including the semi-acoustic fretless.

I only use the neck pickups on the fretted basses. The bridge pickups are either disconnected or removed. I use both pickups on the solid body fretless

I guess it’s nice to just feel really happy and content with my gear.

Oh, I also have two five string and one four string Tacoma acoustic basses.

And the of course there is my beloved Rob Allen Deep Five………

IMG_4031.JPG

Lackey, Basehead, pbass74 and 4 others like this.
  2. nonohmic

nonohmic Supporting Member

Dec 13, 2005
    ABQ, NM.
    Great family. Do you prefer the portamento or the hollow body for fretless?

bluesguy62 and jibreel like this.
  3. nFinnyD

nFinnyD

Oct 31, 2017
    Utah
    I regularly tune my two Ibanez 5ers to DGCFA#(at least one is always in it), maybe we’re like half cousins, then?

Nice collection, I’m after a fretless 5 in the next couple of years and you have 3 of the 5 I’m considering!

bluesguy62 and jibreel like this.
  4. jibreel

Apr 12, 2005
    Seattle
    They are very different sounding so I am really glad to have both to choose from.