1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My L-2500 vs my Cirrus 5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by StuartV, May 10, 2010.

1. StuartV

StuartV Finally figuring out what I really like Supporting Member

Jul 27, 2006
    Manassas, VA
    I got my Peavey Cirrus 5 brand new a couple of months ago. I got a mint, used G&L L-2500 on Friday. Both are Made in U.S.A..

After spending some quality time with both, I noted a few things.

Caveat: I am a long-time musician (low brass and drums), but fairly new to playing bass.

- The Cirrus seems very well setup right out of the box. The action is low and I don't have much trouble fretting notes without getting buzzing. The 2500 needs a setup, I think. The action seems a little higher and I get more buzzing when fretting notes from not pressing the string hard enough.

- The neck on the 2500 is definitely thicker, front to back. I think the specs say it's a little wider, too. I notice the extra thickness, but I don't really notice the extra width. The extra thickness is different-feeling than the Cirrus, but not bad different. Just different. I actually like them both. The Cirrus seems flatter on the back of the neck and the 2500 thicker by being more of a rounded shape.

- The Cirrus feels like it's a tiny bit longer reach to the first fret, but so far that difference doesn't bother me, either.

- Playing with all the adjustments, I think I can get more different types of sounds out of the 2500.

- If I take all my fingers off the strings (on the 2500), I get a slight electrical hum to a somewhat louder hum depending on the settings. But, as long as I'm touching the strings somewhere, the buzz pretty much goes away. OTOH, the Cirrus never makes any buzzing noise that I've noticed. I put a new battery in the 2500, just to make sure that didn't have anything to do with it.