1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My left thumb position

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Venturella, Dec 22, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Venturella

Venturella

Feb 10, 2016
    I used to be a mediocre guitar player but i moved on to bass 2 years ago. So ive been playing bass for about 2 years now. But my teacher told me that my left thumb should always be on the middle of the neck. But when I play, my thumb goes up nearly to the side dots. Also, he told me that my thumb should point up vertically to the frets but my thumb slants to the left when I play. But when I was learning guitar, my teacher did not tell me anything about it. Is this is problem that needs to be solved? or is it just a matter of preference?

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I do the same, but you're better off listening to your teacher. Proper left hand position not only improves playing, but decreases the probability of hand / nerve injuries. I'd say your previous guitar teacher should have mentioned it.

3. Yep, thumb - middle of the back side of the neck.

4. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Worth watching all the way through :

5. Howlin' Hanson

Howlin' Hanson Lighter cabs, please.

Sep 3, 2007
    Austin TX
    Mine moves a bit, but usually gets back where it belongs. Sometimes it just needs a bit of relief from staying in the middle position.

More folks would get the benefit of your question if it were in Technique, rather than General Instruction, but close enough, I guess.

6. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA