1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My Modest, But Totally Groovy Dean Fretless EAB

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Leftka, Sep 29, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Leftka

Leftka

May 4, 2017
    Naples, FL
    I have been playing this Dean acoustic/electric fretless since I started playing a little over a year ago. It was cheap...like $200 cheap. I put a set of la bella tape wounds (so smooth and soft) on her in BEAD...that's the only change I made since I bought it. I just love playing this Bass. I have other electric basses, a gretsch electrromatic hollow body, a ray 34 fretless, an Ibanez short scale tallman and a luna tattoo, all good valiues for the money and all fun to play...but there is just something about this big boomy, full figured girl that just keeps bringing me back.
    the wide fret board (compares to a classical guitar fret board) is flat, with the thick BEAD strings that makes her very easy to play, even being super long scale. my style of play is very percussive, and while its work to hammer every note on her, she gives back such a unique sound. Granted, not for everyone, but it is my own unique sound.
    I play out on Wednesdays at a local Pub here in Naples, FL. My accompanist and I play blues, early rock and standards...listen to my big boomy girl as she goes for a jog on "you call it joggin', I call it runnin' around"...

bholder and rllefebv like this.
  2. rllefebv

rllefebv

Oct 17, 2000
    Newberg, Oregon
    Nice groove! The gal behind you was definitely diggin' the vibe, and that looks like a pretty fun weekly gig!

-robert

Leftka likes this.
  3. Leftka

Leftka

May 4, 2017
    Naples, FL
    thanks, and yes, definitely a very fun gig.

4. mikeoso

mikeoso Acoustic Curmudgeon

Feb 14, 2014
    eastern Iowa
    What's the harp guitar your pal is playing? Sounds excellent!

jaybones likes this.
  5. Leftka

Leftka

May 4, 2017