1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

"My neck is nice and straight"

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ggvicviper, Jan 9, 2012.

1. ggvicviper

ggvicviper Grosbeak, Yamaha, Fender, BSX. I’m Marc! Supporting Member

Jul 16, 2011
    East Meadow, NY, USA
    So, since the moment I started playing bass in my mid-teen years, I've been hearing about people needing their bass's necks to be straight, and that's the right way. I believed this for a long time.

One day I started noticing that my basses would have fretbuzz on the lower frets. I never really knew why.

Eventually I did research on this, and saw the scientific reason why my bass had fretbuzz - the strings need room to vibrate along a neck, and there needs to be a slight bow in the neck to allow the strings to vibrate in a radius appropriately along the neck without crashing into the frets. The neck is not supposed to be as straight as a line to do this. Likewise, too much bow will let the upper frets get buzz, and worse yet warp the neck eventually.

Since I've learned this, I've adjusted all the necks on my basses to have a little bow. Not a huge amount, but enough so that the action still stays fairly low and the strings remain their tension. You can only see a little bow looking down the neck, which is really good. It says it on guitar tech sites, and it even says it in several bass owners manuals that this is the proper way of doing this.