1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

My new E-string broke while I was installing it... Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by phayes1007, Aug 11, 2012.

1. phayes1007

phayes1007

Apr 19, 2011
    I bought a set of DR-"Rare" acoustic bass strings last weekend... [and to my frustration] the outer winding of the E-string eventually began to "unwrap" and separate from the string-core as I started bringing it to proper tension.

I'm pretty new to the "acoustic bass world", as I just bought my first one 2 weeks ago (it's an Ibanez 4-stringer), but I've been playing my electric 5 & 6-string basses for a few years, I've changed strings on each of them numerous times (and God knows how much $$ I've spent doing that over the years)... so I'd like to think that I know what I'm doing by now, at least when it comes to changing a bass-string.

It's pretty much impossible to find acoustic-bass singles at any retail music stores nearby, but interestingly... the DR company's HQ/manufacturing facility is in Emerson, NJ (2 miles from where I live). Would it be out-of-line for me to go visit their location and ask them to give me a replacement for free? I kept the broken string, receipt, and package just in case.

2. mmbongo

mmbongo Dilly Dilly! Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    First, check with www.bassstringsonline.com for singles. Not sure if he has a lot of acoustic strings, but it's worth a shot.

Second, heck yeah I'd go by the DR shop! I'd call them first though. They will take care of you. Heck, take your bass up there and they can probably show you why it broke...my guess is the outer windings were going around the tuner post.

3. wong99

wong99

Jun 6, 2012
    Same thing happened to me with a set of D'Addario's.
    First time that ever happened in over 40 years.