My new G&L SB-1

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Brendan, Jun 1, 2004.

1. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    '86 style. Leo era SB-1. Black body (wood unknown, suspect alder), black single ply pickguard. Has the black cast zinc bridge and tone lock screw. About 1.7" at the nut, and has that bi-cut neck, so it has no fingerboard; gloss neck finish and 21 frets that are all in great shape. Pretty light, but with enought weight to have some authority.

Has some dings, love taps, and a couple chips of paint missing, but over all, in outstanding condition for a bass nearly as old as I am. The neck is perfect, though. So I really think it's about an 8 out of 10, you might not, but all things considered, it's marvelous.

Sounds massive, and is generally hard to put down. This is pretty much my ideal 4 banger.

And, of course since it doesn't exist unless there are pik-toors. Yes, there's some flash spots, but 1) I'm a terrible photographer, and 2) These are close enough and 3) I'm lazy. :)

2. Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH
  3. Dan Molina

Dan Molina TalkBass Secular Progressive

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
  4. Mike A

Mike A Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2002
    Right on, Brendan.

That there's a gen-yoo-wine bottomend powerhouse. Would you believe the SB-1 was originally designed as a "student bass?" What is that one? 84? 85?
  5. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    86. It really is a kick in the pants. And, as simple as it is, it nicely meets all the requirements I have for a bass:

Precision pickup (or something meaty): Check
    Beefy bridge: Check
    Wide nut: Check
    Downsized body: Check (1.5" thick and less than Fender perimeter)
    Sounds killer: Check
    Good frets: Check

Sadly, it's G&L and Spector that make 4 bangers that meet my specs, and that's about it for production basses. There are enough wide 5s out there, but not nearly enough wide 4s.

Rockin' the P of doom.
  6. MascisMan

Nov 21, 2003
    Dallas, Tx