My new Schecter Custom-5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Logans Dad, Sep 18, 2005.

1. Logans Dad

Logans Dad

Dec 9, 2002
    I have been wanting a new 5 string bass for quite a while and I finally decided on the Schecter Custom 5. Today was the 2nd Sunday that I've played it at our Sunday morning church service.

Overall I've been very happy with it. The first time I started playing it, it was buzzing all over the neck. I then checked and noticed that the neck was absolutely flat. I loosened the truss rod a little and the buzzing all went away. I now want to lower the strings just a bit, but haven't had time to work on that yet.

As far as sound, the only negative thing I have noticed is that the "C" on the "A" string seems a little "dead". It's not bad (by my standards), but for some reason, that one note does not seem to ring out and sustain quite as well as the others. Would that more likely be the bass itself, or the strings? Its not really bad, and I just started noticing that yesterday.

So anyway, I'm very happy with this bass for the price paid ($500). It has been fun playing with different tone settings on both the bass and my amp (Crate BX100) to see what different kinds of sounds it will produce. When I play contemporary praise music at church, I stick with just the neck pickup and a little bass boost and get a nice clean powerful tone that sounds good with the other instruments.

Here are a few pics.

[​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

I'm mostly a "lurker" here, but I also want to say thanks to all of you that are willing to help us noobs with all the advice and instruction that you provide.

2. gambit0714

May 19, 2004
    Suffolk, VA
    Let me be the first to say " SWEEEEEET". :hyper:

Enjoy it!!! It'll make beautiful music for you.

Stay low

Gambit :cool:
  3. SoComSurfing

SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

Feb 15, 2002
    Mobile, Al