My next bass? Debating between Lakland and Spector

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rutherford_Fan, Apr 14, 2012.

1. Rutherford_Fan

Rutherford_Fan Guest

Dec 27, 2011
    Lancaster, PA
    Hi, everyone.

I have been playing bass for 12 years and have owned some great instruments in those years. Right now, I am in possession of:

- 4-string Warwick Corvette Standard Fretless (German)
    - 4-string Rickenbacker 4003 in Fireglo
    - 4-string Fender Jazz Bass (MIM) with EMG p-ups
    - 5-string Music Man Bongo H-H with Piezos at bridge
    - 4-string Squier Classic Vibe '51-style P-bass

I generally play the modified Fender Jazz bass or theBongo these days, but I am very, very finicky about a certain 'tone' that I am obsessed with these past two years or so. And I can only get a crude approximation of it with the basses I own.

Basically, the tone I speak of would be best exemplified by a P-J p-up configuration, especially bar magnet (not pole-piece) p-ups. It has a special attribute where the attack tends to be both delayed slightly AND is softened. But with the single coil in the bridge, you also do not lose any 'bite' and enunciation. THAT is what I crave.

The Jazz bass comes close, but the p-ups are single-coil and very thin, so I cannot get the delayed attack. The Bongo can be configured so that 'my tone' is achieved, but the pole pieces are exposed and they have Neodynium (sp?) magnets which take away from the warmth of the tone I desire.

I have decided to limit my next bass to the following:

Lakland Skyline- 4-string fretted: I don't know the model name, but I desire the one with the HumBucker Soapbar at the bridge and pole-less J pickup above it.

Spector Euro- 4-string fretted: I want the one with either the P-J configuration OR the one with two soapbars.

So, please, owners of either bass, tell me which one will get me that elusive tone the best! And, heck, if I am neglecting a bass with those properties in the $1200-$2000 range, let me know!!