1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My next investment?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by HollowLlama, Jul 18, 2007.

1. HollowLlama

HollowLlama

Jul 18, 2007
    Hello all,

I'm new to the talkbass community and was just looking for some advice. I have been playing Bass for around a year and a half now and love it with a passion. I have a Samick Corsair Greg Bennett signature model bass (Based on a Fender precision Bass design) and a 30 watt Mega amp. (Yes I realize I dont have the best of amplifiers.) And finally a tuner. I'm looking for a next good investment I could make for my bass. (Not specifically effects and pedals although I posted it here since I thought most people would mention it.) I have a low budget of around 120$ CAN. I'm thinking of maybe getting a pedal for my bass, something to give some pizzazz to my sound. (Since my sound just seems so empty, like there is missing something) I was aiming for maybe the BOSS GE-7 equalizer pedal. Then again Im relatively new and not familiar with whats good and whats not. I'm not going for any sound in particular just something that adds a warm bass sound or then again anything that adds some pizzazz like mentioned before.

Thanks in advance,

HollowLlama

2. JanusZarate

JanusZarate Low End Avenger Gold Supporting Member

Feb 21, 2006
    Petaluma, CA, USA
    Honestly, what you need to do is save up for a better amp. There isn't a pedal in the world that can make up for that.

As for the GE-7... that one's the guitar model. It'll work fine on bass, but I think you'll prefer the frequency-shaping options on the GEB-7 - the bass model - since it's set up for adjusting lower frequencies that are more useful on bass.