1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

My own bass showdown

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lorenzini, Jan 28, 2005.

1. Lorenzini

Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles
    Hey guys

I am ITCHING for a new bass. I only play fingerstyle jazz and funk and I do NOT have a ****load of cash! Having said that, my current GAS's are the G&L Tribute L2000 / 2500, the Lakland Skyline 44-01 / 55-01, and the Fender Marcus Miller.

I have tried the L2500 and let me tell you, I love it! Sounds like a jazz or a funker or a rocker depending on what you do with the plethora of switches.

I have not yet gotten a chance to play the 44-01 or 55-01. Should I give these basses a chance? I've heard they are an even nicer bass than the G&L but I have no experience on it, and there are no dealers near me.

The Marcus Miller speaks for itself. Great tone imo.

But I'm completely lost as to WHICH bass I should get! I am aware I shouldn't buy a bass without holding it in my hands... so whaddaya think?

2. I used to own a Marcus Miller bass, now I own a Lakland 44-02. I think the Miller sig. is a really good Jazz-bass. But the Lakland feels more allround. I can get the Miller tone out of my Lakland, but I can´t get the Lakland tone out of the Miller Bass. I have only tried one Lakland, its awesome. I have tried three different Miller basses. One of them was the best Fender I´ve ever played. My old bass was nive to play, but it didn´t feel solid enough for me. Bad assembling maybe? The third one, as soon as i picked it up, i felt that this bass is not a good bass. From my experience i would go for the Lakland Skyline. If you wan´t a sound sample of my bass go here:
    http://www.soundclick.com/bands/3/myspojkarnamusic.htm

Good luck

3. notabob

notabob

Sep 20, 2003
    cincinnati ohio