Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My own bass showdown

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lorenzini, Jan 28, 2005.

1. Lorenzini

Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles
    Hey guys

I am ITCHING for a new bass. I only play fingerstyle jazz and funk and I do NOT have a ****load of cash! Having said that, my current GAS's are the G&L Tribute L2000 / 2500, the Lakland Skyline 44-01 / 55-01, and the Fender Marcus Miller.

I have tried the L2500 and let me tell you, I love it! Sounds like a jazz or a funker or a rocker depending on what you do with the plethora of switches.

I have not yet gotten a chance to play the 44-01 or 55-01. Should I give these basses a chance? I've heard they are an even nicer bass than the G&L but I have no experience on it, and there are no dealers near me.

The Marcus Miller speaks for itself. Great tone imo.

But I'm completely lost as to WHICH bass I should get! I am aware I shouldn't buy a bass without holding it in my hands... so whaddaya think?

2. I used to own a Marcus Miller bass, now I own a Lakland 44-02. I think the Miller sig. is a really good Jazz-bass. But the Lakland feels more allround. I can get the Miller tone out of my Lakland, but I can´t get the Lakland tone out of the Miller Bass. I have only tried one Lakland, its awesome. I have tried three different Miller basses. One of them was the best Fender I´ve ever played. My old bass was nive to play, but it didn´t feel solid enough for me. Bad assembling maybe? The third one, as soon as i picked it up, i felt that this bass is not a good bass. From my experience i would go for the Lakland Skyline. If you wan´t a sound sample of my bass go here:
    http://www.soundclick.com/bands/3/myspojkarnamusic.htm

Good luck

3. notabob

notabob

Sep 20, 2003
    cincinnati ohio