my right thumb

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by small, heavy be, May 9, 2005.

1. small, heavy be

small, heavy be

Apr 25, 2005
    i haven't ever heard anyone talk about this, but i've been playing the same bass for 8 years (a pbass copy). anyway, it has one of those thumb rests/shelves, and so i've always played with my thumb on the shelf.
    it never seemed like a problem to me or my teachers, but eventually i hit a rough spot - when i play other people's basses (like at the studio) and when i am looking to upgrade to a newer bass, i don't feel comfortable without the shelf. i can still play ok and all, but i'm just not as confident of comfortable. so my question is: where do most bassist put their thumbs (or is there a "right" place) when they play? when i play a bass without a shelf i usually rest either on the corner of the neck (byt the highest fret) or on the top edge of the pickup.
  2. I just rest on my E string when I'm not using it. When I am using the E, I don't rest my thumb; I just let it hang there, or I play with it.
  3. small, heavy be

small, heavy be

Apr 25, 2005
    yeah, when i was dabbling with a 5 string i used the b as a shelf, but with active circuitry i found it made noise sometimes (admittedly more of a technique issue, i'm sure).
  4. e-money

Apr 20, 2005
    i do the same thing as you. rest eather on the end of the neck the pickup
  5. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
    Well, it would be good to rid yourself of the thumbrest habit......

However, if it's just too deeply stamped in your playing style, you can add one rather easily:

Would hurt resale value of any bass you add it to, though....
  6. munificent

Mar 15, 2005
    I have the same habit. What's the advantage to playing with a floating thumb? I feel like I have better finger control (since I'm just using my finger and not my whole arm) when my thumb anchors my hand to the bass.