Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My saga continues

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by PinkFloydDan, Feb 6, 2006.

1. If any of you remember, I am the guy who recently quit a band and joined a real band, who gigs about every weekend.

Anyway, we have had about 9 practices so far. Gigs begin March 4. I have learned maybe 14 songs pretty well and another 5 or 6 are almost sort of down.

On Saturday, they asked me if I would be interested in re-dubbing the bass lines on their new, soon to be done, ep CD, because their old bassist quit and won't return their calls. I accepted.

However, I have never done studio work before. I imagine the bassist needs to have his "sh$t" together and have the bass lines down pat. Perfect. I am real nervous.

One song I cannot figure out. It is much to fast for what I feel I can do right now and getting it down in two weeks scares me.

And I am not sure what alternate bass line I could do. Another song, I still have some issues with, but I know how it works...It is just technique, speed and timing that is getting me.

And in 2 weeks I have to have it all down pat? Man, I am flipping out.

Any advice on how to approach studio work? Are their tricks to the trade in a studio that might serve me that I could bring up to the tech guy to make it sound like I know what I am doing?

If anyone wants to hear rough recordings from practice last week of two of the songs on the cd, go to www.soundclick.com/thousandbucks and listen to Lucky-Strangest Feeling--it will only be up there for another day, as I promised to take it down because of the poor recording of it (a little zoom unit) but it gives you an idea of where I have come in such a short time with these guys. The rest of the tunes are old and not with the band so ignore them.

The band web site is www.walnutgroveband.com