My singer stinks.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by shirojiro, Jan 22, 2005.

1. shirojiro

Jan 24, 2001
    San Francisco
    Ever had a sudden epiphany that makes you want to up and quit your band?

I had one last week.

I've been playing bass for 20 yrs now, and I've been part of a band with a great group of guys for a year or so. I don't mean to sound too conceited, but I'm the warhead of the group, but the other guys are good, not great, but good. I really enjoy spending time with the guys, though, so it's been a lot of fun. Most of the writing is done by the keyboard player, but all of the songs have been a group effort. They sound good, and it's rewarding to play them.

We've been having problems finding someone to sing, though. We currently have a singer who is a good friend of the keyboard player (who writes of of the material...). The singer is a great guy. The problem is: he stinks.

I record every rehearsal on Minidisc, and I review them all the time. When I have time, I convert the recordings to mp3 and post them for the band on my yahoo account.

We haven't played much in the past couple of months, but this last time, he was just awful. I mean, painful to listen to.

There's no real controversy here. We all know that he's not a great singer, but for some reason, I was able to put up with it before. Now, I realize that I can't be in this group with this singer. The other guys totally understand, and want to look for another singer as well.

I'm just amazed that we/I put up with the bad singing for so long. I wish that our friends had been more honest with us after gigs too. When I review the gig recordings, I cringe a little.
  2. odie

odie Supporting Member

3. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    I'd cut this guy loose while looking to find another singer, if the rest of the band wasn't willing to do that, then I'd quit.