Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My solo

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by 20one, Jan 15, 2004.

1. 20one

20one

Jan 10, 2003
    Abilene, TX
    I'll start off by sayin that I'm still a newb and hardly have a clue what I'm doing lol... the quality isn't that great as I don't really have all the cool gadgets to record with and whatnot.

I've never really had any other bass players listen to my playing (since I live in a podunk town) but I'd like to hear some input on it...

It doesn't have any leads since I don't have a loop pedal (it's on the list of toys to get) but there is melody...

Feedback would be appreciated! :)

http://members.cox.net/moeuhane/basssolo2.mp3

Edit: I used my Cirrus 6 string and a little "wah" effect

2. *ToNeS*

*ToNeS*

Jan 12, 2001
    Sydney AU
    I really think the level of sophistication present in this solo is way, way above a self-confessed 'newb'. You didn't play this piece, did ya?

3. HaVIC5

HaVIC5

Aug 22, 2003
    Brooklyn, NYC
    You definitly tell it's an amateur recording, so I have no reason to doubt him. I liked it, sometimes it lost energy, but it was a very nice recording. I like the tone, and the use of delay as a loop, but that section seemed a tad out of place. Good stuff, though.

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Yeah, sound pretty good, reminds me of when I noodle around late at night plugged into my computer with headphones on.

I'd say, while there is some nice playing and some nice melodies in there, it really didn't GRAB me or speak to me, it sounded like educated noodling, Some cool ideas, but you should refine it, take it to the editor and rearrange it.

5. 20one

20one

Jan 10, 2003
    Abilene, TX
    Tones, the level of this piece is derived from the fact that it was played on a 6 string bass making it rather easier to play than it really sounds...