My Story .... With Vegaas

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by vegaas, Nov 27, 2003.

1. vegaas

Nov 6, 2001
    So I have been thinking alot lately about my ability as a bass player.
    Here is a little background info first. I started playing when I was 16. I started because my best friend played guitar. He sounded great so I bought a drum set. Well, that lasted for about a month. I knew drums werent for me, I needed to be out front and be able to move. I bought a bass and my friend I formed a band with another friend who played drums. We got a singer and became a band. I played until I was 19. I became a father at that time, so I quit the band and sold all my equipment for money.

Through my early to mid 20's I would dabble on the bass occassionaly, but never bought one. I finally started playing again when I was 28. An old friend of mine played drums and convinced me to start playing again with him and another friend of his who played guitar.

Well, that was 6 years ago and I have been playing ever since and have been in a number bands. Some were gigging bands, others were not. I think I am an average bass player. I get compliments from people, but most are non-musicians, so I thank them and in my head think, fooled another one. I am striving to get better. One area I really need to know more of is theory. I know the basics, such as keys, scales, chords and can read very basic notation. However most theory is still a puzzle were I have some of the pieces, but I dont know how to put it together. I have justed started taking theory lessons at MusicDojo and I am hoping that it starts to help with piecing it togther.

My biggest hope is that it opens up the fretboard for me. There are times where I feel I own the bass, and there are other times were I feel the bass owns me.